baby number 2 · family · pregnancy · pregnancy; baby number 2 · second baby

24 Weeks Pregnant – Baby Number 2

IMG_0667

 

Due Date:

28 October

Symptoms:

I’m feeling tired at the moment and I don’t seem to have much energy. I do think this is a lot to do with my diet though. As with the last update I did, I’ve still suffered the odd leg cramp in the night- they’ve actually been so bad that my leg has still been tender for a couple of days after it, but I’ve not had them for a while now. I have had a couple of bouts of heartburn, but nothing that gaviscon hasn’t been able to sort out. I’ve had another one or two instances where I’ve felt really restless and my heart has been racing, I’ve gone really tired and weak. I think this is to do with my diet and not getting enough iron, so it’s definitely something I am trying to be mindful of. I’m also trying to drink more fresh Orange for some vitamin C. Other than that, there’s not much to report in the way of symptoms.

How is baby:

At 24 weeks, the baby is now considered viable. This feels like a huge milestone and I remember getting to this date with Alfie – I was at my Uncle’s on holiday in the Isle of Man, and it felt like such a huge deal. This time around, it’s kind of crept up on me and there’s it’s not really occupied my thoughts too much.

The baby is approximately a foot long, and is around 600g. The lungs have now developed enough so it can breath air, rather than fluid and they are able to hear sounds, like my voice and heartbeat.

How I’m feeling:

I honestly feel like a crazy pregnant lady! I am much different this time round in that I know I’m being moody and the smallest of things are getting to me. I find that I’m snapping at Michael more, which in turn is making us bicker. I told him that I know I’m being moody and I’m snapping and I asked him to just be mindful of the fact it is my hormones and it’s not actually me just being a b*tch. I think he was getting a bit fed up with it because he really appreciated the fact I’ve acknowledged how I’m being and he knows not to take it to heart. Hopefully, my hormones will steady out soon and I’ll stop being so moody!

This last couple of weeks have been really tough for us. Alfie suddenly developed a fear of doing a number 2, which in turn has caused him to have lots of belly ache, he was very clingy, he was crying every day, he was sad and totally lost his spark. He’s also lashing out a lot more and arguing and screaming at us. It hard at the best of times, but when he’s hitting us and shouting in our faces, it’s really hard to keep our cool. We’ve taken him to the doctors twice and he’s on movicol to hopefully get things moving again.

At the time of publishing this, we do seem to have come out of it the other end and now he’s going several times a day because the movicol is doing it’s thing, but he still won’t go on the toilet, so it’s been really hard keep having to put him in a nappy to do one, then changing him. I can’t bend down so easily now, so it’s been really tricky.

Pregnancy wise I feel like I’m getting through it ok for now. Michael pointed out to me last night that I’ve around 16 weeks until my due date and it made me absolutely petrified. For whatever reason, whilst this baby is very much wanted and loved and was planned, I just don’t feel ready mentally. I don’t know if it’s because I’m pre-occupied with Alfie and we’ve had his issues to deal with, but I still feel very much in denial. Like we’ve got loads of time left. When I think back to those early weeks of constantly being sick / heaving every day, it felt like time was going so slowly, but now the weeks are racing past and I wish time would slow down again. Hopefully, over the next few weeks, I’ll get more organised and I’ll be more prepared.

 

This week, Alfie decided to get in on the bump shoot and I really love these pictures.

IMG_0664IMG_0663

 

 

Leave a Reply

