Emotional Ramblings · family · pregnancy · Uncategorized

A Birth Story – Part 2

If you’d like to read part 1, you can read it here

Friday 07 September 2012

At 2am, I gave up trying to sleep through the cramps and got up to go and have a bath. I’d taken some paracetamol which hadn’t helped, so I hoped a bath would ease the pain. By now, Michael was awake and up with me and he sat next to me whilst I was in the bath, holding my hand as I tried to breathe through the contractions. Whilst they were getting stronger, there was still no pattern at all.

Michael rang triage to let them know and they said to keep an eye on me and not to take me in until the contractions were about 3 minutes apart. I’ve never been through anything painful before, so I had no idea what my pain threshold was – but I knew that I was in pain and I was struggling to cope with it.

Around 5am, I started to get dressed, knowing that I wanted to go to hospital. Michael was back on the phone to triage as my contractions were now 5-6 minutes apart. I came back in the bedroom, after pacing up and down the landing when I felt the need to go to the toilet again (I’d only been a few minutes before), so I hobbled back down the landing. As soon as I sat down, I felt a huge gush – thank goodness I was on the toilet! I grabbed a pad and sorted myself out and went back to Michael who had been getting the last minute things ready. I announced that my waters had just broken. Unbeknown to us at the time, we didn’t realise that it could still be a long time until anything happened. I think we were quite naïve back then and luckily we will have experience on our side this time.

I quickly phoned my Mum and told her that my waters had gone, so we were going to hospital. She told me she would meet us there…

6am – I don’t remember much of the car journey apart from clinging to the side of the seat and the dashboard as though my life depended on it. Poor Michael didn’t know whether to put his foot down and get me there asap or to take it slow so as to not cause me any more pain. Luckily, we only lived 10 away from the hospital. Michael had rung ahead to let them know we were on the way but when we got there, it still took us a while to get in.

The next part is hazy, but I remember being taken to an empty ward and put on a bed. The midwife examined me and told me I was only 3cm dilated. Whilst I wasn’t surprised, I was disappointed. The contractions were now much closer together and were strong. Usually, at only 3cms, I’d have been sent home, but the midwife said that as it was quiet they would let me stay as I didn’t seem to be coping too well with the pain. I remember thinking ‘No s**t sherlock, contractions hurt!!’

I was moved up in to a delivery room and as I was being wheeled in I heard a shout from down the corridor. My Mum, Dad and sister had arrived. I’d never discussed or even considered Mum being a second birthing partner. I guess I’d just always assumed that it would be Michael, but at that moment, I wanted her there too. I think I was relieved when I saw her and it was someone else to support Michael (and me). I almost couldn’t believe it was happening. The moment I’d waited so long for. My baby was on the way.

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “A Birth Story – Part 2

Leave a Reply

