Emotional Ramblings · family · pregnancy

A Birth Story – Part 3

You can read parts 1 and 2 here  and here

I got on the bed and was examined every hour or so. The contractions were really strong by now and I was struggling to cope. I had gas and air to help me, but I hated it. It made me feel spaced out and drunk. I hate feeling drunk at the best of times and it didn’t take the pain away, it was just something else to focus on and it caused a distraction. I was drifting in and out of sleep between contractions but I was still aware of what was going on. I could hear my Mum and Michael talking to the midwife and commenting that I’d fallen asleep again.

By mid-morning, I was exhausted. Michael’s parents had also arrived along with his sister, so the waiting room was pretty full of everyone waiting for news of the impending arrival. Michael and Mum took it in turns going out updating everyone – not that there was much update for a long time.

Sometime later, I was asked to do a sample and needed to go to the toilet. I’d been putting it off for so long that I really couldn’t delay anymore, so I relented and went. I was so worried about being away from the comfort of my safety net of the bed and gas and air. Both Michael and Mum came in with me but I sent Michael out cos I was worried about ‘going’ in front of him. I know how ridiculous that sounds – I was in labour but that’s what I was bothered about!

I had another two contractions whilst in there and remember clinging on to Mum. She pointed out that I’d managed the last two contractions with no gas and air and commented how well I was doing.

I hobbled back over to the bed and got back on it. Surely there can’t be much longer until something happens?

One thought on “A Birth Story – Part 3

Leave a Reply

