Alfie · Emotional Ramblings

As you become a big brother

Dear Alfie,

Any day now, our lives are going to completely change and you are going to become a big brother. I’m 38 weeks pregnant as I write this and I really want to remember our final few weeks / days until you are no longer our only child.

You’ve handled me being pregnant brilliantly, taking it all in your stride and umderstanding that I can’t get down on the floor to play and I get tired more easily. I’ve had SPD, like I had with you, only this time it’s been much worse. It breaks my heart knowing that you count the minutes until Daddy gets home just so he can play on the floor and rough and tumble and chase you around the house. I can’t wait until I can do these things with you again. Thank you for being so patient and understanding with me. Sometimes I forget you are only just four, you can be so wise beyond your years. I promise I will make it up to you once the baby is here.

You’ve taken such an interest in the baby and will often ask to see my belly to stroke it or kiss it and more recently you’ve started to cuddle up to me again in the afternoon’s and you’ll rest your head on my belly and listen to baby. You seem quite fascinated by it and when it kicks or moves, you still have to ask if it’s me moving or the baby. We’ve talked to you quite a bit about what will happen and the other day you said to me ‘Mummy, when your waters break…’ it really caught me off guard as I didn’t realise Daddy had gone into so much go detail. But not only that, it just made you seem so old beyond your years. I’ve tried my best to prepare you as much as I can and honestly … I’m most worried about being alone with you when labour starts and you seeing me in pain. I’m hoping your brother or sister will decide to come in the middle of the night. Just like you did.

You’re now at nursery five morning’s a week and you seem to be enjoying your new routine and I really look forward to you coming home at lunch time. You’re not very forthcoming in telling me what you’ve done or who you’ve played with, but you’re happy and that’s the main thing.

At the moment your favourite thing to play and watch is Fireman Sam. You would watch it for hours on end if we let you. What’s great though is when you’re playing, you’ll reenact parts you’ve seen in episodes. It’s wonderful listening to you play and you’ve got a fantastic imagination and you’ve also started to do a fake American accent!

You make me so proud Alfie and you’re the most wonderful little boy (unless you’re being the devil child and pushing our buttons)! I just know you’re going to be the most fantastic big brother to this little baby in my belly and I can’t wait for the day my babies finally meet.

I love you to the moon and back.

All my love, Mummy xxx

 

img_1472 img_3237 img_3622 img_2098

Leave a Reply

